German Packaging Award

Top award crowns innovative strength
the company

GelatoPack impressed the jury. The German Packaging Award is an international, cross-sector and cross-material competition and the largest European showcase of achievements in packaging.
It is held under the patronage of the Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. 

The prize is awarded by the German Packaging Institute (DVI) - whose list of members ranges from A for Aldi to C for Coca-Cola, T for Thyssen and Z for Zott SE & Co. KG. Each year, the institute honors innovative and creative solutions ranging from seemingly small but groundbreaking details to fundamental innovations á la GelatoPack.

 

DR. ROBERT HABECK

Patron
Federal Minister for Economy and Climate Protection

The German Packaging Award was established back in 1963 to provide impetus for innovations in this industry. It has developed into the most renowned and largest European showcase for packaging. I am very pleased about this because packaging is an indispensable component for safely supplying people and the economy with a wide range of products. Many innovations and clever solutions developed by often small and medium-sized companies ensure a consistently impressive level of safety, protection and hygiene. In recent years and decades, both packaging consumption and packaging waste have risen steadily in the process. Precisely because we cannot do without packaging in most cases, we have to find new ways. Many companies are already working intensively to avoid superfluous packaging, to enforce reusable packaging more strongly, and to return valuable raw materials contained in disposable packaging to the cycle as secondary raw materials after use. Above all, the proportion of reusable packaging is increasing. I am very grateful to industry and trade for this, and this should continue. In addition, the German government has agreed to set up a funding model to promote resource-saving and recycling-friendly packaging design and the use of recycled materials in packaging even further. This means that the pace of innovation can and should continue to increase. The starting points for design are diverse - they range from sustainability and circular economy to consumer protection, design and product presentations to economic efficiency, digitalization and machine technology. For the mail order business in particular, it is becoming increasingly important to find the right balance between product and environmental protection. I am convinced that we can look forward to many exciting and groundbreaking concepts, technologies and products again this year. It is therefore with great pleasure that I take on the patronage for the German Packaging Award 2022 and wish all participants much success thanks to captivating ideas.

By winning the GERMAN PACKAGING AWARD in the "Functionality & Convenience" category, GelatoPack has not only entered the Hall of Fame of Europe's best packaging innovations, but has also been nominated for the WorldStar of the World Packaging Organization (WPO) 2023.

What do the experts say:

Dr. Ina-Maria Becker, Sales Manager Systalen
Der Grüne Punkt – Duales System Deutschland GmbH

Food delivery services are becoming increasingly important, and not just since the pandemic began. 

The problem:

Transporting ice cream creations, e.g., from the ice cream parlor to the customer, via delivery service, is currently not possible without major quality losses of ice cream, cream or toppings. Congratulations, therefore, to this sustainable delivery packaging, whose product components are not only compostable and biodegradable, but can even be used as part of the ecologically beneficial returnable, returnable and deposit system.

Reinhard Kartheininger, Head of KOLB Design/Product Development
Hans Kolb Wellpappe GmbH & Co. KG

Above cooling the decoration to refrigerator temperature (3-6 degrees),
below the ice cream cooled to minus degrees.
Due to two cooling zones with different temperature, the ice cream always remains creamy tender and not as cold and tasteless as from the freezer.
And cream/fruit are pleasantly cool, but do not freeze. Ice cream in parlor fresh quality. As easy as you've ever known it from pizza delivery service. Even on the hottest days of the year and a delivery time of up to 1 hour. All aspects of sustainability are united in the GelatoPack.

Deutscher Verpackungspreis

Top-Auszeichnung krönt die Innovationskraft
des Unternehmens

GelatoPack beeindruckt die Jury. Der Deutsche Verpackungspreis ist ein internationaler, Branchen‐ und materialübergreifender Wettbewerb und die größte europäische Leistungsschau rund um die Verpackung.
Er steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie. Mit dem Preis prämiert das 

Deutsche Verpackungsinstitut (dvi) – deren Mitgliederliste von A wie Aldi, über C wie Coca-Cola, T wie Thyssen und Z wie Zott SE & Co. KG reicht – jedes Jahr innovative und kreative Lösungen vom scheinbar kleinen aber wegweisenden Detail bis hin zur grundlegenden Neuerung á la GelatoPack.

 

DR. ROBERT HABECK

Schirmherr
Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz

Der Deutsche Verpackungspreis wurde bereits 1963 ins Leben gerufen, um Impulse für Innovationen in dieser Branche zu setzen. Er hat sich zur renommiertesten und größten europäischen Leistungsschau rund um die Verpackung entwickelt. Das freut mich sehr, denn Verpackungen sind unverzichtbarer Bestandteil für die sichere Versorgung von Menschen und Wirtschaft mit einer Vielzahl von Produkten. Viele Innovationen und kluge Lösungen, die von oft mittelständisch geprägten Unternehmen entwickelt werden, gewährleisten ein immer wieder beeindruckend hohes Maß an Sicherheit, Schutz und Hygiene. In den letzten Jahren und Jahrzehnten sind dabei sowohl Verpackungsverbrauch als auch Verpackungsabfälle stetig gestiegen. Gerade weil wir in den meisten Fällen nicht auf die Verpackung verzichten können, müssen wir neue Wege gehen. Viele Unternehmen arbeiten bereits intensiv daran überflüssige Verpackungen zu vermeiden, Mehrwegverpackungen stärker durchzusetzen und in Einwegverpackungen enthaltene wertvolle Rohstoffe nach Gebrauch als Sekundärrohstoffe wieder in den Kreislauf zurückzubringen. Vor allem steigt der Anteil an Mehrwegverpackungen. Ich bin dafür Industrie und Handel sehr dankbar, und dies soll sich auch weiter so fortsetzen. Zudem hat sich die Bundesregierung darauf verständigt, mit der Einrichtung eines Fondsmodells ressourcenschonendes und recyclingfreundliches Verpackungsdesign sowie den Rezyklateinsatz in Verpackungen noch deutlich weiter voranzubringen. Das bedeutet: Das Innovationstempo kann und soll weiter zunehmen. Die Ansatzpunkte für die konkrete Ausgestaltung sind vielfältig – sie reichen von Nachhaltigkeit und Kreislaufwirtschaft über Verbraucherschutz, Gestaltung und Warenpräsentationen bis hin zu Wirtschaftlichkeit, Digitalisierung und Maschinentechnologie. Insbesondere für den Versandhandel wird es zunehmend wichtiger, die richtige Balance zwischen Produkt- und Umweltschutz zu finden. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass wir uns auch in diesem Jahr über viele spannende und wegweisende Konzepte, Technologien und Produkte freuen können. Deshalb übernehme ich mit Freude die Schirmherrschaft für den Deutschen Verpackungspreis 2022 und wünsche allen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern viel Erfolg dank bestechender Ideen

GelatoPack ist mit dem Gewinn des GERMAN PACKAGING AWARD in der Kategorie „Funktionalität & Convenience“ aber nicht nur in die Hall of Fame der besten Verpackungsinnovationen Europas aufgestiegen, sondern wurde zugleich für den WorldStar der World Packaging Organisation (WPO) 2023 nominiert.

Was sagen die Experten dazu:

Dr. Ina-Maria Becker, Vertriebsleiterin Systalen
Der Grüne Punkt – Duales System Deutschland GmbH

Food Lieferdienste gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung, nicht erst seit Pandemiebeginn. 

Das Problem:

Der Transport von Gelato-Kreationen z.B. aus der Eisdiele zum Kunden, ist via Lieferdienst, derzeit nicht ohne große Qualitätsverluste von Speiseeis, Sahne oder Toppings möglich. Herzlichen Glückwunsch daher zu dieser nachhaltigen Lieferverpackung, deren Produktbestandteile nicht nur kompostierbar und biologisch abbaubar sind, sondern sogar im Rahmen des ökologisch vorteilhaften Mehrweg-, Rücknahme- und Pfandsystems genutzt werden kann.

Reinhard Kartheininger, Leiter KOLB Design/Produktentwicklung
Hans Kolb Wellpappe GmbH & Co. KG

Oben Kühlung der Deko auf Kühlschranktemperatur
(3-6 Grad), unten das Eis auf Minusgrade.
Durch zwei Kühlzonen mit unterschiedlicher Temperatur bleibt das Eis stets cremig zart und nicht so kalt und geschmacklos wie aus der Kühltruhe.
Und Sahne/Früchte sind angenehm kühl, können aber nicht gefrieren. Genuss in Eidielenqualität. So einfach wie man es bisher schon vom Pizza-Lieferdienst kennt. Selbst an den heißesten Tagen des Jahres und einer Lieferzeit von bis zu 1 Stunde. Nachhaltigkeit von A wie alternative Materialien bis Z wie Zyklus der Recyclingfähigkeit, sind beim GelatoPack in vorbildlicher Weise in einer Verpackung vereinigt.